Christ the King Sunday

I confess I am not a regular attendee of the Catholic Mass, Its an obligation for us catholics to attend mass and its a sin not to go, its the only day for our Lord (guilty as charged please forgive me). It was Christ the

Christ The king
Christ The king

King, and the mass was a bit late because they celebrate a special 3oclock mass. We should attend a 6oclock mass it started 6:30. It was a bit rainy good thing we bring our umbrella (ella… ella…). Bad thing we can not bring our daughter it was her 11th month birthday (1month to go before the big day). It was a calming and refreshing sunday it was we rested that afternoon and had a good gospel that day and also it was nice be back on the church benches after 2 weeks of silence.

Matthew 25:35-46

35for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.” 37Then the righteous will answer him, “Lord, when was it that we saw you hungry and gave you food, or thirsty and gave you something to drink? 38And when was it that we saw you a stranger and welcomed you, or naked and gave you clothing? 39And when was it that we saw you sick or in prison and visited you?” 40And the king will answer them, “Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family,* you did it to me.” 41Then he will say to those at his left hand, “You that are accursed, depart from me into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels; 42for I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not give me clothing, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.” 44Then they also will answer, “Lord, when was it that we saw you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not take care of you?” 45Then he will answer them, “Truly I tell you, just as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.” 46And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.

This was the gospel last Sunday, and it reflects me what are the good things that I did for my brother? Then the priest has a story about a beggar boy:

There was a beggar boy that everyday begs for money to all passerby on a certain overpass in metro manila. He always receives 25 cents and the biggest money he ever received was a 1 peso coin. As he continues to on the end of the day he prays to the Lord that he hopes to receive something more than the amount he recieves everyday.

Then one day a man pass by and he gives a bread and a 20 peso bill to the boy. The boy was amazed so as the man passed him he chase the man and said “Thank you sir, are you Jesus?”

Maybe for the guy the 20 pesos was nothing but to the boy it has great impact and value. He saw the figure of Christ to that man. Which I will go back to my reflection what are the good things that I did for my brother? When was the last time I helped someone? When was the day I became the man in the story? or maybe Im still that boy that wants that begs for something?

Sitting still on the church benches I am stunned, forcing to remember when was that time I helped someone maybe it was a very long long time ago, or maybe I just take it for granted so I forgot it.

My personal reflection to this verse is that its not enough that we go to church or pray but extending the help that we can give to the people around us. As long as your intention is to help, just help! If you have an opportunity to help, just extend those hands to the people in need.

Well I guess that wraps up our day with a question to our head, Is there a time that we became an image of God to others?

Leave a Reply

